Texas Southmost College’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society proudly welcomed several new members on Friday, May 10, 2024. Hosted by the Division of Arts and Sciences, a ceremony held at the SET-B Lecture Hall officially inducted a total of 31 students into the society, with four students present to take part in the ceremony itself.

First established in 1918, TSC’s Phi Theta Kappa honor society had upheld a near-century long tradition of recognizing and celebrating the academic achievements of ambitious young scholars. As part of it, members are provided with a variety of opportunities for professional development, service programming, and overall personal growth. Overall, Phi Theta Kappa has played an active role in helping shape the future leaders of our communities.

Students who wish to gain membership in Phi Theta Kappa must have at least an average GPA of 3.5 and have successfully earned between 12 and 60 college credit hours. Eligibility is open to all TSC students who meet the criteria for acceptance, and the society is supported by faculty co-sponsors from different campus departments. Current Phi Theta Kappa co-sponsors include Dr. Maria Celia Flores-Feist and Mr. Daniel J. Perez, and Ms. Martha Casquette was the keynote speaker for this most recent ceremony.

“Phi Theta Kappa has a proud 94-year tradition of inducting scholars at Texas Southmost College,” said Perez. “It is one more opportunity to recognize and celebrate the academic achievements of our supremely talented Scorpions.”