CHAPTER 30 - Montgomery GI Bill® Active Duty
CHAPTER 31 - Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment Program
- Active duty service members are eligible if they:
- Expect to receive an honorable discharge upon separation from active duty;
- Obtain a memorandum rating of 20% or more from the VA;
- Apply for Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment VetSuccess services.
- Veterans are eligible if they:
- Have received or will receive a discharge that is other than dishonorable;
- Have a service – connected disability rating or at least 10%, or a memorandum rating or 20% or more from the Department of Veteran Affairs (VA);
- Apply for Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment VetSuccesss services.
- Online Application - http://www.vabenefits.vba.va.gov/vonapp/default.asp
- More information - http://www.benefits.va.gov/vocrehab/eligibility_and_entitlement.asp
CHAPTER 33 - Post 9/11
- ELIGIBILITY – Service members who served on active duty for at least 90 aggregate days after 9/11/2001.
- BENEFITS – Eligibility after completing 90 days of aggregate service. Based on number of months on active duty (Tuition and fees, BAH, Books).
- ENTITLEMENT – 36 months. May extend to end of term if expires during term. NOTE: 48 months max under – if there is a kicker, the kicker does not extend.
- EXPIRATION DATE – 15 years from last discharge or separation.
- 6 HOUR 1 TIME DROP RULE – you can drop up to 6 hours in 1 semester only. Example you drop 3 hours out of 12 in Fall 2013 you don't have to pay anything back to the VA. Now you drop another 3 hour course in Spring 2014 you will have to pay money back to the VA.
- BAH - will only be paid if attending 7 credit hours or more.
- Online Aplication – http://vabenefits.vba.va.gov/vonapp/main.asp
- Paper Application – http://www.vba.va.gov/pubs/forms/VBA-22-1990-ARE.pdf
- More information - http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/.../ch33rates080113.asp
CHAPTER 35 - Survivors and Dependent's Education Assistance (DEA)
CHAPTER 1606 - Montgomery GI Bill® Selected Reserve
- Exempts qualified veterans and children of certain disabled or deceased veterans from specific tuition and fee charges at public institutions in Texas, with a maximum of 150 credit hours. Veterans must be a resident of Texas at the time of enlistment and serve more than 180 days of active duty and discharge must be honorable or general. Hazlewood recipients are responsible for e-book fees, parking fees and Student Service fees.
- Legacy recipients are required to follow TSC financial aid Policy as well as their declared program of study.
- Register for Online Database Hours - https://hazlewood.tvc.texas.gov/students/
- Paper Application - http://bit.ly/28N2MRW
- More information - http://www.tvc.texas.gov/Hazlewood-Act.aspx
Last Updated on Friday, 24 March 2017 14:36